Skip to main content Skip to navigation
CEREO People

Core Faculty and Staff

JAN BOLL– Director, Professor- Civil and Environmental Engineering

JULIE PADOWSKIClinical Assistant Professor | Phone: (509) 335-8539

JACQUELINE McCABE– Principal Assistant | Phone: (509) 335-5531

MATTHEW BROUSIL– Data ManagerPhone: (509) 335-4552

Executive Committee

Amanda Boyd– Assistant Professor, Communications

Interests: environmental and health risk communication , energy policy, indigenous health, media representations of risk


Jesse Brunner, Faculty, School of Biological Sciences

Interests: evolutionary ecology of infectious disease, especially amphibian disease and tick-borne disease

Lynne Carpenter-Boggs, Faculty, Crop and Soil Sciences

Interests: Sustainable and Organic Agriculture: biological soil

Yonas Demissie– Faculty- Civil & Environmental Engineering

Interests: surface and subsurface hydrology


Ani Jayakaran, Faculty, Extension (ANR Unit, Washington Stormwater Center)

Interests: green stormwater infrastructure, outreach, hydrology, fluvial geomorphology, land use change


Jolie Kaytes– Faculty- School of Design and Construction

Interests: landscape architecture, representations of landscape complexity, food systems, Columbia River Basin


Kevan Moffett – Faculty – School of the Environment

Interests: heterogeneous, non-linear, and dynamic coupling of physical and biological flow and transport pathways in the hydrological cycle – particularly the physics of shallow groundwater, soil water, and surface water movement and how plant water uptake facilitates this movement  or ‘gets in the way’.


Von P. Walden, Faculty, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Interests: Remote sensing of the atmosphere, polar environments, climate change


Francene Watson, Faculty- Teaching & Learning

Interests: environmental sustainability, equity, and well-being; school and community gardens


Former Executive Committee Members

Steve Bollens, School of Environment

Asaph Cousins, Faculty, Biological Sciences

Keith Blatner, Natural Resources Sciences

Emmett Fiske, Community and Rural Sociology

Markus Flury, Crop and Soil Sciences

Andy Ford, Environmental Science and Regional Planning

Howard Grimes, Plant Sciences, Biotechnology

David Gruenewald, Teaching and Learning

Heidi Jarvis, School of Music

Kristen Johnson, Animal Sciences

Jeff Joireman, Marketing

Jim Kropf, Northwest District Director, Interim Pierce County Director

Nick Lovrich, Political Science

Dave Evans, Biological Sciences

David Sprott, Carson College of Business

George Mount, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Todd Norton, Communications

William Pan, Crop and Soil Sciences

Lynda Paznokas, Teaching and Learning

David Pietz, History

Eugene Rosa, Sociology

Michael Salvador, Communications

Phil Wandschneider, Economic Sciences

Kent Keller, School of the Environment

Brian Lamb, Professor- Civil & Environmental Engineering

Babu John Mariadoss, Carson College of Business


Broader CEREO Network